Discuss Getting Started. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mikgee

Hi all,

I have almost finished my 22 years service in the Army and am planning to become Gas Safe Registered. I have some experience in the trade as two of my brothers and my dad are Gas fitter/Plumbers, I have Completed a 3 week Guild of Gas Fitters Operatives, Cat 3 Theory Course with T-Gas in Thirsk (North Yorkshire), but I am struggling to find a company to take me on to do my portfolio.

I could go down to Leicester and complete my portfolio with my family but would rather do it in the area I plan on settling, (Richmond/Darlington) So I am thinking of doing a course with MET UK to get qualified, Their courses appear to be on the ball and they assure me of work placement to complete my portfolio in my area, which to me is worth the 5+k fee alone. This leads me to my question.

Has anybody on the Forum done a Gas course with this company and how did they find it?

Thanks for any help & advice on this.

Mick

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Mike Ask them if they will take payment for the training once they have found you a placement. If not train with your family. Good Luck

the sticking point is the placement
with a good one you can achieve your goal without a good one your screwed
its getting tougher to find placements due to the downturn in the industry engineers dont want another competitor springing up in their area
its not just a case of doing the course and going out working
start up costs are high
course 6k??
van/insurance tax
public liability ins
gas safe registration
advertising
tools
you are looking at initial costs of probably in the region of 15k and no customer client base
employers wont want a fresh out of school newbie with no experience

the sticking point is the placement
with a good one you can achieve your goal without a good one your screwed