Discuss Finding contract work in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

dan_the_plumber

Gas Engineer
Hello all.

I'm a plumber and gas engineer. I pick up work on a day to day basis. However I'm looking to pick up more contract work. I'd like to do more servicing, landlord certs as well as insurance work and guarantee work.
The problem I've got is that I have very little idea of how to gain this work. I just wondered if anyone wouldn't mind sharing their experience with me? How should I go about winning this work?

Thanks very much...Dan :)

Make friends and lots of them, kids help!! go to school events etc!! its all about who you know, not how good you do the work, price comes a close second!! for estate agents anyway!!

Make friends and lots of them, kids help!! go to school events etc!! its all about who you know, not how good you do the work, price comes a close second!! for estate agents anyway!!

Thanks a lot Jase. We haven't got kids at the moment, maybe we should think about having some...lol

ive got a website and just getting my new van sign written so hopefully that'll bring in some more work too. Things are tuff for a plumber In South Wales atm!

For letting agencies it's usually a case of the lowest price wins unless you find a good one.

Yeah that sounds right to me Milsy! I think I've got my pricing right now. It's just that they say "we've got a company that does that for us, but We've got you on our records and we'll bell you as and when we need you"

im fairly sure the servicing and certificate work will just build up as time goes on. But what about guarantee work or insurance work, anyone have any insight here?

Thanks all :))))

Some letting agencies simply want someone they can depend on , go in and see them , drop off business cards and make yourself known to them , personality goes along way aswell as great people skills,