Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Can I do any checks on a defective boiler if I am not gas safe? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Ross D

I have a leak on my boiler and want to know how far I can take the investigation before I cross the Gas Safe line. I am not a have a go DIYer I want to know when I legally can go no further, I am a mechanical engineer so defect diagnosis etc I am happy with but don't want to break the rules.

I have pressurised the system and isolated the heating system valves, the pressure dropped on the boiler overnight proving the defect was on the boiler not the system.

The PRV is fine, it has not lifted as the discharge pipe is completely dry, with the odd cobweb indicating it has never lifted.

Can I take the cover off the boiler to check the accumulator, or does this become gas work?

I suspect the heat exchanger has failed as the flue started dripping when the boiler first runs at the same time as it started to lose pressure.

I know I will need a Gas Safe plumber to do the repair and recommission the boiler on completion.

It is a Greenstar R35 HE plus combi boiler if this makes any difference.

Many thanks for any advice.

Ross

You cannot remove the cover at all on that unless you are gsr. It forms a seal and as such is essential for the combustion process.