Discuss Boiler fault finding trainng in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jake14

Hi all this is my first post. I have just started on my own doing plumbing and heating. I have been a plumber for 16 years and gas safe for 10 years. I do all pluming work, gas installs ,services and fix heating ie broken pump ,mot valve or other simple things but what im struggling with is fixing problems inside boilers. My old work didnt do boiler repairs so i have no experience or training on boiler repairs and fault finding. Where can i get training for this ? i live in aberdeen scotland

Hi Jake, best training course for such things in my experience were Baxi, not sure if they have any centres near you though, also look out for the books by John Reginald, very well written and a really good start
Chris

Jake, if possible sign up for the different manufacturers courses, they can be free and sometimes the notes you get are great, I've been on 7 and all are good, if your not sure on fault finding always ring manufacturers technical, problem is, some are premium rate and you need to be in office hours, but be in front of the boiler with your gas safe number and they will talk you through it. Jon

I tried phoning a manufactures once before and didnt have the right tools as i never do boiler repairs. The guy asked me to check if there was a live coming from the pcb to the fan but i didnt have the correct tool for the job as i have never needed to do anything like this before as anything to do with electrics was done by the electrican who worked for the same firm as me. This is why i would like some training and advice on whats the best tools to buy for fault finding.

A good multimeter mate.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk