Search the forum,

Discuss Blocked soil pipe after installing replacement toilet in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi - I'm not an expert but wondered if anyone might be able to assist. I've replaced an old toilet with a new one. I've used the same water inlet pipe, and have just replaced the right angled soil pipe connecter (110 at toilet end to a 97-107 connector end to existing soil pipe). It's secured down, and works OK, apart from the toilet water after flush is draining away slowly after flush, like there's a block somewhere in the soil pipe.

It's connected to the downstairs main soil pipe that also has 2 sinks, a dishwasher and bath connected. If I drop a lot of water down one of the sinks (bucket for example) then I'm getting bubbles in the toilet, and vice versa.

If anyone could point me in the right direction of how I might have gone wrong, or if it just sounds like a blockage in the main soil pipe, i'd be really grateful. Thanks!

Do you have a picture of the side of the old toilet

Could be an air problem

Do you have a picture of the side of the old toilet

Could be an air problem
Hi this is the old toilet (not sure if this is what you meant) and I’ve included a photo of the new toilet I’ve connected
IMG_4871.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_4870.jpeg
    IMG_4870.jpeg
    543.3 KB · Views: 21
The pan please eg picture of the side like the new one

Spot on

No it’s a stnd pan so in theory should be fine nothing accidentally fell down the pipe ?

No - that was sort of impossible as the soil pipe (terracotta one) was already there and horizitonal - so I just attached new connection to it.

What’s strange is that at first I bought the wrong connection, and the toilet was too far out from the wall, and it flushed absolutely fine. But I changed the connection between toilet and soil pipe to the one shown, and now I’ve got this issue.