Discuss Another ideal isar 24he in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hobo128

Gas Engineer
Been out twice to this boiler, problem occurring is no hot water or heating and fault code L F flashing tried the usual press reset button, or turn boiler off for five seconds, made no difference. Took pcb out and checked it which seemed okay. When I put it all back it fired up and work for about a month, just been called back today and same thing happened, could this be a pcb on its way out or loose connection or something?

I'm no expert on the LF fault but from memory it's worth changing ignition / detection probes plus checking the condense & sump... The ignition generator can also fail.

Not normally a pcb fault with lf. Can be a number of things. Blocked condense pipe or trap. Ignition or flame rectification electrodes, flame rectification lead which gets hot and the coating on the cable melts or breaks off. Poor earth or earth pins failed. Best thing it to take the burner off and look at the components in the chamber, it's an easy job that eliminates several possible causes. If it sounds like a washing machine on start up then you know you have a condense issue. I wouldn't take the trap off unless you have a spare one because they always leak. Check gas pressures too. And finally a combustion test.

Also worth checking the blue impulse tube is not blocked or split.

But start off as Arran has said, electrode, detection, both leads, gas inlet pressure, and sump/ trap and condense pipe.

Does anyone even try and fix these heaps? I just quote for a new boiler, I'm doing them a favour getting those heaps out.

I spent 2 hours last night on an m30/100. Wish I hadn't. Still broken. Needs a new diverter motor now too. Just had a pump, condense trap and aav.

I always sook air in through my teeth when ever i see one in someones house... bag of cack.