Search the forum,

Discuss Very very low hot water flow in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello,
I’ve been doing my first refurbishment is a two bed flat with a bathroom and ensuite . Learnt a lot and been grateful for input’s especially from Shaun. The customer had ordered swan neck mixer taps for kitchen, bathroom and ensuite. On installing then all the hot water flow is none existent in the kitchen which has a tall swan neck tap. When the low lying bath hot water is running there is no flow in the ensuite or kitchen.
I have no idea what the flow was like pre refurb but I suspect that moving from low taps to swan neck has exacerbated the hot water flow issue. The flat has a direct gravity fed cylinder.
I’m a novice in this but I suspect that a salamander pump or a pressurised direct cylinder would improve the flow. Are there any conclusive test that can be carried out before I recommend to the customer to go with a pump/pressurised cylinder.
Kind Regards
Tezzer

More than likely you have fitted high pressure taps on low pressure hot system.
Pressurised cylinder would be a cure but a correctly sized/fitted whole house pump would do the job.
Not salamander! Not what they were
Stuart Turner monsoon every time.

How much head is there?

Are the taps suitable for low pressure? What is the minimum required head on them?

If you're going down the pump route how big is the storage tank?

How big is the cylinder?

As it's a flat does it have a Fortic cylinder like the one below or is the cold from a central higher level tank feeding all the flats?
Have you checked if all / any valves are sheared or seized or just part closed?

Pressurised cylinder would be a cure but a correctly sized/fitted whole house pump would do the job.
The customer pre purchased all the taps etc. The pump you suggested looks like the best option rather than replacing the vented system. Thanks for the recommendation.

How much head is there?