Search the forum,

Discuss The 6129 Mercenaries in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

Kyle87

I, like many others have done the 6129 tech cert. but am now on the Bpec gas foundation. After this there will be more training but not for a while. Will actually need to work as a plumber/gas engineer to afford more training.

Anyway that's me....

What I actually want to know is how many people have gone it alone with just the tech cert as their training.

I can't imagine how you would be anywhere near prepared for the real world. I'd like to know what the biggest problems they face are. For instance will you get insured as a plumber with just a tech cert.

I'm still a trainee, a very compitant trainee but none the less, a trainee.

I find it funny though that I have actually received more training than some of the plumbers out there doing it with only the 6129 or less

All this talk of tech certificates goes straight over my head. People come on saying that I'm doing this cert or that cert and I haven't got the faintest idea what they're on about. What happened to going to college to train to be a plumber? You need a flipping degree in which certificate you need before you start the course. It was so much easier when it was just a craft certificate followed by advanced craft.

Tech cert- pay a load of money and get half a qualification.

For me I wanted to progress on to the nvq but my college screwed us all over by offering the tech cert in the year they stopped offering the nvq as they've now crossed over to the diploma.

I'm just intrigued to hear from the people
who are out there working in people's homes with such little training.