Search the forum,

Discuss Replacing Radiators in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

P_opsy

I am wanting to replace my existing radiators with new radiators however the width is not a standard with and the piping comes straight up from underneath the floorboards.

The existing radiators 650mm width and I can only find them in 600mm, 700mm width! is there any possible way of replacing them?

Im a total novice when it comes to plumbing but no the basics!

so any expert help is most welcome!

The easiest solution is to get the smaller radiator but ensure the radiator produces enough heat for the room. You can buy 50mm extensions for the radiator tails from your local plumbers merchants which will make up the difference in size.

This way you should be able to get away with draining each rad individually by shutting valves at each end and replacing the rads without having to drain down the system.

The easiest solution is to get the smaller radiator but ensure the radiator produces enough heat for the room. You can buy 50mm extensions for the radiator tails from your local plumbers merchants which will make up the difference in size.

This way you should be able to get away with draining each rad individually by shutting valves at each end and replacing the rads without having to drain down the system.

Thanks for that

I was planning on replacing a single with a double! so if I go for the smaller radiator should be fine if its a double??

u can get adjustable tails but i dont like em

im sure theres some play on pipes if only a bit is needed

I think Paulus was suggesting the extension pieces rather than valves with adjustable tails. Can't see the prob with the extension pieces although to be honest I've had a bunch for ages and not used them, I just pull an off set and add a coupler.

I agree fuzzy, the adjustable tails are rubbish, I mean't the extension pieces like WaterTight says.