Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Please read your insurance policy in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chalked

Esteemed
Plumber
Gas Engineer
As a few of you are aware, I had my garage broken into and about £2500 of tools/stock stolen.
having never claimed off ANY insurance in my life (49 year old) . I decided I should claim on my household insurance. My policy says £4000 of cover, so went through the claims process only to be told today that in the small print it says that, trade tools used for work are not covered!!
on the insurance form I was asked what I did for a living and if I worked from home.
So where did they expect me to store tools???
so my advice would be for everyone to check all small print and ring your insurance to make sure tools stored in your garage are covered.

And when you've checked and made sure your tools are covered, keep any receipts/paperwork/manuals for the tools as these can all be used as evidence that you owned the tools

Even if you itemise work tools as a separate item I would be surprised if they were covered in a normal garage, they are too easy to open, sorry for your pain with it though

So sorry to hear of your troubles. Ours advised us that my tools and stock would not be covered. I insure them separately with my public liability didn't cost the earth either.

Catch a thief and hang him in driveway. Leave him there to ward off other thrives. No insurance needed

I don't think your unlucky if this happens to you......I think your lucky if it doesn't.

I sleep with one eye open in room overlooking van. Powertools inside. I'd break the little scumbags legs

Going to ring my public liability insurance tomorrow . (Corgi) I have £2000 of tool cover with them. Wish me luck!