Search the forum,

Discuss IDEAL ICOS HE24 - losing pressure after heating is turned off in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

cullia

Hello,

I am new to the forum so hello to you all and here's hoping someone can help pin point what our issue is? I have some knowledge of our system from researching the internet.

We have a three storey house. On the first floor is an Ideal Icos HE24 boiler. On the third floor is a Megaflow CL250 hot water tank. Alongside the hot water tank is the red expansion vessel, sitting off the expansion vessel is the PRV and the pressure gauge along with the filling loop.

Our hot water and heating works fine. The boiler was noisy when the heating was on but that was down to the fan and we have had that replaced.

Now, when the heating ISN'T on, the pressure is maintained. We can have showers, put the washing machine on, dish washer on and the pressure stays constant. However, when we turn the heating on, the pressure goes up by about 1.5 bar to 2.5 bar and we noticed water was being expelled out the overflow pipe from the PRV. When the heating is then turned off, within 24 hours, the pressure drops to zero. Despite the pressure dropping to zero, the boiler still works and heating and hot water is available.