Search the forum,

Discuss How do I fix this leaky tap? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello all,

newbie here so be kind please. We have a leaky tap in our bathroom and not 100% sure how to go about fixing it. It’s the cold tap that’s causing the drip, but not sure how to take it off and service it. Any help is greatly appreciated. See pictures for the tap 😊

Attachments

• B4DFE0AB-596F-4BA4-BED7-8717C631EAA2.jpeg
    B4DFE0AB-596F-4BA4-BED7-8717C631EAA2.jpeg
    908.2 KB · Views: 10
  • A5249598-B489-43DD-BBDE-472C6331D0E4.jpeg
    A5249598-B489-43DD-BBDE-472C6331D0E4.jpeg
    857.4 KB · Views: 13
  • 85FB2519-320B-43C2-A437-F0064748E9C2.jpeg
    85FB2519-320B-43C2-A437-F0064748E9C2.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 13
1. They are quarter turn taps, so you won't be able to service it, but will have to replace what is known as the "cartridge" inside.
2. To replace the cartridge you will need to either know the make and model of the taps and order appropriately or take the cartridge to a decent plumbers' merchants and see if they can match it. (Take the handle as well so that it can be tried on possible replacements).
3. To remove the cartridge you will need to:
3a. Isolate the flow to the cold side of the tap. If you are lucky there will be isolation valves under the basin. If they are the normal type, use a flat bladed screwdriver to move the slotted screw in the middle of the valve until it is at right angles to the length of the valve.
3b. Remove the handle. This could be held by a grub screw at the back, or may just pull off.
3c. Remove the cartridge by unscrewing the large hexagonal nut. This may be stiff, and you will need to hold the body of the tap to stop it turning.
4. Unless it is a known make of tap you may find that you can't get a cartridge for it, in which case you have little alternative but to replace the taps.