Discuss heating newbie advice needed for zone valves in the Plumbing Zone area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Dan Condé

Firstly, hello to everyone.

I'll start of giving everybody a quick rundown before i rant my dilema.

I've been self renovating my house (first home) on a MASSIVE scale for the last 2 years, and we're now in the final stages.... plumbing and electrics. I'm a fabricator by trade so have touched on plumbing and pipework throughout my time buy not domestically, so......

..... basically, I've got a heatmiser neo-stat system ready to install, with underfloor heating covering the entire ground floor split into 2 zones. There's 5 remaining zones upstairs that are all radiators.... my question is.... rather than run a ring main for the upstairs and branch off it for each rad with the ugly motorized valves on show in each room, is it possible to have all 5 zone valves downstairs positioned near the rest of the heating hardware (UFH manifold), resulting in 5 sets of vertical pipes leading upstairs?..... or will that be to much for the pump to handle without buying a special one?

the ground floor is 55m2 with wet UFH , there are 3 rads and a towel rail on the first floor and a single rad on the 2nd floor, i haven't bought my boiler yet so advice on that is also welcome.

thanks
Dan

You can do it the way suggested but expensive. Have a look at Honeywell evohome might be easier to install and cheaper.

I've already got all the hardware..... full heatmiser neo-stat, ive also got the honeywell 2 port valves. My only issue now is the layout, I'm worried that if all the valves are open then it'll be too much for the pump to handle as it'll have 5 sets of vertical pipe to push the water upstairs.

For the boiler I would suggest an Ideal Vogue. Obviously you need a gas safe registered engineer to fit it.

What pump were you thinking of installing? Really needs to be sized correctly to the system.