Discuss Good Multimeter in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

psk

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Hi,

I am looking to get a multimeter and a cheap one to start with.
Is it a good idea to get a cheap version as long as it does what it says, i have never used one before so i would appreciate your advice on a decent one. I checked one of these sites on the right hand side of this page and saw this one 'Dilog DL9204 Compact Digital Multimeter ' Is it good?

Thanks in advance.
cheers

Def go for an auto ranging one. Such a faf on if you don't. I have a Draper 78997 and is very good.

ive got the fluke clamp multi meter which is auto ranging , luckily a mate works for a national firm and gave me a couple as they were surplus to requirements

like hell lol the one thing i am short on is electrical knowledge (something i am working on) i am rather chuffed he got me them like as my old one had way too many buttons etc on it this one i only use 2 so its right up my street hehehe

eye not wrong...... big dial but only ever use 3 bits on it!!!!!! Gets me out of a pickle occasionally.

i know a lad whos got an all singing all dancing one and all he does is turn the dial until a number comes up that looks something like hes looking for then rings me

TIS Auto-Ranging Digital Multimeter

Very good for the price, has a temp sensor and it's auto ranging which makes it easier to use.

That is my multimeter! Good bit of kit. Beeps at you if you forget to switch it off...has a back light, and auto offs if you ignore the beep.

Plus I blew the fuse inside to a millions pieces when I checked for resistance with the power on (silly mistake I know)...took the meter apart, emtptied out the bits, stuck another correctly rated fuse in, and it's as good as new. Acid tested. Won't do that again!!

Tell a lie, I just looked more closely at it. Not my one!! Sorry. The ebay one looks good.