Search the forum,

Discuss Glow worm micron 50ff in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

Wayney

Hi this is my first post as a new member.
I'm familiar with plumbing but I'm not a heating engineer. I'm after advice as I have my cousin who is a gas safe engineer to do any boiler work that is required. So not after DIY advice but experience in resolving the issue.
I recently moved into a house and have been having problems with my glow worm micron 50ff its ten years old.
I keep getting a non volatile lockout once a day and have to reset it.
I hear a gurgling sound when I reset it. Assuming from the overheating.
The boiler has been flushed and appears to be clear with good flow with no air locks.
Pump and valve appear to be operating correctly. Air separator has no magnetic attraction and system is filling up from the f&e tank fine. All rads get hot and odd days it doesn't cut out.
My cousin has replaced pcb board and thermistor but problem is still there. He is going to call glow worm on Monday but he is scratching his head on this one.
He is taking another look at the system this friday with my help.
If you have any ideas I would appreciate it as is so annoying.
I'm lucky I'm not paying much on labour but parts like boards don't come cheap.
thank you in advance Wayne.

The forum take a dim view of giving out advice on gas appliances to non qualified engineers. Get your cousin to ask on your behalf. He will need to contact admin first to get his yellow badge though. Also if he can't identify fault go on the gas safe register and get a new fitter as he's not any good!

A competent engineer wouldn't have changed PCB as it's clearly not at fault. Did your "cousin" change the parts ? I'm assuming that he's serviced and 26(9) the appliance?

Last edited by a moderator:
We cannot and will not give advice on the installation or repair of boilers, cookers or ANY gas appliances for your own safety.