Discuss Career path choices? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

macka09

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Hi all. As most of you know I have recently passed my ACS exams and Ive been working as a plumbing/heating engineer for nearly 2 years. I'm the first to admit I've got a massive amount of learning still to do. Problem I'm faced with now is the fact after 2 years I'm still only earning £60 a day. I'm a 33 yr old with 2 young kids so to say I've been scraping by is a big understatement. I knew it would be a big sacrifice to pursue this career but the time has come that something needs to change. I can earn £60 a day stacking shelves if I'm honest and I get the impression the boss will not want to pay anything more till I've done 4 years cos that what he had to do as a 19yr old. Difference being, after 6 months of him doing it he hadn't even soldered a joint. I on the other hand was fitting a boiler under super vision, start to finish. With out going in to all the details I just want some advice as to what steps to take? How do I apply for a job when I've still got lots to learn without getting an apprentice wage? I'm able to carry out all the duties that are given to me just not at a lightning pace. Any advice you guys have would be appreciated.

The best thing to do is put your CV on places like monster jobs and CV library, then let the recruitment agencies find you. You will get calls from them who have found potential jobs for you.

This saves you the time and also means they have a rough idea of what their client is looking for, experience etc.

Have you asked your boss for more money? What do you feel you are worth to him?

I'd love £60 per day, i take out £750pm out my company.
Your probably worth more mate, ask for an extra £20 a day and see what he says?