Discuss Worcester Greenstar 25si in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

leafsta

Hey there,

recently purchased the above combi long with the dt20 programmer without realising that this programmer actually goes onto the boiler.

Im after a thermostat to go in my lounge but as a complete noob with heating have no idea as to work out what ones are compatible... Also, what cable must I run from the boiler to where the thermostat is to go??

Worcester bosch do a lot of plug in wireless controls, you can then have the programmer in the boiler and a wireless thermostat in your lounge. A Worcester DT20RF would suffice.

Worcester bosch do a lot of plug in wireless controls, you can then have the programmer in the boiler and a wireless thermostat in your lounge. A Worcester DT20RF would suffice.

Correct me if im wrong, but I already have the DT20 programmer which fits onto the actual combi which means to but the DT20RF would be a waste of money now that I have the DT20?

What I was thinking is maybe getting a wired thermostat that I can put in the lounge, I can run wires no problem as the ceilings are down. If I am on the right lines then is there a cheapish thermostat from somewhere like toolstation that would work?

Thanks again

Yes most cheap thermostats would work, then you just need to remove the link from the boiler pcb and connect the 2 wires from the thermostat. Alot of thermostat are battery powered and just have the switch wires, so low voltage 0.75 cable would be okay, check the instructions to be sure tho.

dt 20 is internal timer, DT20RF is the Radio Frequency one! they also a MT10 timer and a MT10 RF which is a mechanical version, these are both wireless units that you can fit were you please in your house with the reciever plugging into the boiler were your exisiting DT20 is. they dont come cheap for wireless but probaly cheaper and less mess than a spark runing wires for a wired stat!