Discuss Problems since new hot water tank installed in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mousemole

Please bear with me, I'm a newbie and female to boot !
Anyway I recently had a larger capacity hot water tank installed to replace the 25 year old one.
Since it has been installed I've had a host of problems..
1) shower pressure has dropped dramatically and splutters
2) If I now have the heating on in the day there is no hot water at the end of the day.Seems the hot water sand heating no longer work when both on
3) the radiator no longer works in the bathroom
4) today ( 4 weeks after installation) the washing machine stopped taking water in. Spoke to an engineer who asked if I'd had plumbing work done recently. I said yes and he said there was probably 'debris in the system' that is blocking the washing machine pipe.
I could scream! What's going on ? Plumber wwho did the work doesn't want to know :(
sny help or insights really appreciated.

You've had a service that you've paid for. You have consumer rights. Your plumber has to want to know.

Sounds like apartial airlock in the hot water side of things. The radiator in the bathroom is either shut or needs bleeding, its hard to diagnose without seeing the system. You need to get the plumber back to rectify the problem.

Thanks for the replies. Not sure if it makes any difference but the system runs on oil. Plumber makes out all these issues are a coincidence. I feel that I so lacking in knowledge about it all so hoping for some ideas on here that I can give back to him to show I have a little understanding !

Oil is irrelevant. It's just the medium used to heat. Ask him to return or tell him that you'll get a company in to review what's been done and if it turns out he's at fault then you'll proceed with other action. At least give him the chance I'd say.