Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Plumbing Training - Distance Learning...? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mark-Eagle

HI all

I'm a plasterer come general builder and I've been learning plumbing "on the job" so to speak for a couple of years, fitting kitchens/bathrooms etc etc. even so far as fitting an entire Air Source Heat Pump system recently, all with the guidance of my plumbing mate.

My goal is to eventually become a plumber, full stop.

What I want to know is, is there a decent "Distance Learning" course available? I figure I get plenty of "hands on" training on site, and would like to supplement this by increasing my own knowledge of the trade.

Being the best part of 50, I don't want to waste my time on a course that gives me no qualifications that are "recognised". So something City & Guilds, with some NVQ stuff added on (or you can add on) would be ideal (I think!).

Thanks for reading!

Mark

HI all

Being the best part of 50, I don't want to waste my time on a course that gives me no qualifications that are "recognised". So something City & Guilds, with some NVQ stuff added on (or you can add on) would be ideal (I think!).

Thanks for reading!

Mark

Mark, you need to understand qualifications to begin with. NVQs are C&Gs. city and guilds is just an awarding body, they offer tech certs and nvqs. tech certs will cease to be at the end of the month and the only qual avaiable will be the nvq, it will be called 6189 nvq diploma offered by city and guilds, EAL and possibly bpec eventually.

You are better taking to colleges, i suspect you will have to do an apprenticeship which includes the full qual, acs and english and maths to get a full apprenticeship framework.