Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Mystery leak in unvented heating system in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

Newbie here. Not good way to start :(

I've a Vaillant ecotec and pressurised cylinder too. Just had plumber isolate the
cylinder and still losing pressure around 0.2bar over 12 hours. Been many months.

Started losing all pressure in a day recently, over time was getting worse.

Boiler insurance changed many parts deemed necessary while troubleshooting.
Then isolated it and it's not losing pressure.

No visible signs of leak in house so presume downstairs.

About to spend a load of money getting leak buster's in :( any recommendations on these guys?

Is it worth putting air at pressure into system and listening
For hissing?

Once system is sorted will turn to the cylinder... :(

Thanks
B.

Welcome.

Why don't you ask the boiler insurance company to have a look at it with a thermal imaging camera as it will be a more cost effective way of tracing a leak.

Welcome.

Why don't you ask the boiler insurance company to have a look at it with a thermal imaging camera as it will be a more cost effective way of tracing a leak.

Oh! I will ask. But they have eliminated the boiler already.
They are Domestic and General.

Is there should reason you say they will do a leak check with
a thermal camera of they have eliminated the boiler? The rest of the
Heating system is not covered AFAIK.

Thanks
B.

Obviously, different people will have had different experiences with thermal imaging cameras.

I have used them to try and find leaks in commercial buildings due to the inconvenience of lifting floors.

Unfortunately, it was not effective, it shows partially where pipes run but dependant upon the ground or surroundings that the pipe is in, you cannot necessarily see a leak.