Discuss Loud ticking noise from copper pipes in room when heating on in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
I

Ianot

Hi all,

when i turn the heating on the copper pipes (in ceiling area) in one of the bedrooms make a loud ticking noise in a few different areas and it doing my head in. I had a plumber round who said that installing an automatic air vent on the return pipe to boiler should solve the problem as he thinks there's air in the system and the pressure is too much. This doesn't sound like it will solve the problem to me but I'm no expert. I think it's the pipes expanding and knocking off the joists etc. any ideas.

Probably pipes laid direct in notches with no insulation. i always use a piece of hairy felt lagging where pipes cross joists.

you can pack the joist notches yourself without the need of a plumber. try it and see if it cures it

Yeah, this happens when the pipes are jammed against joists /boards, you could take a bit out of the joist so pipes have more room.

Hi all,

when i turn the heating on the copper pipes (in ceiling area) in one of the bedrooms make a loud ticking noise in a few different areas and it doing my head in. I had a plumber round who said that installing an automatic air vent on the return pipe to boiler should solve the problem as he thinks there's air in the system and the pressure is too much. This doesn't sound like it will solve the problem to me but I'm no expert. I think it's the pipes expanding and knocking off the joists etc. any ideas.

you had a plumber round who recommended an air vent on what sounds like an expansion /contraction problem

Anyone with an ounce of plumbing knowledge would edge as whats already been said above