Discuss Link wires? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

andrewstokes87

Hi,

I am new to boiler breakdowns and tend not to do many but when I do and speak to technical they always tell me to link up certain terminals on the pcb, the only thing is I have nothing to link them up with, is there anywhere I can get some proper link wires or can I just use any wires?

Secondly, is there any tools/equipment which maybe of use to me when servicing and repairing boilers as I am looking at building another kit just for this sort of work, I know everyone has little tips and ways of making the jobs so much easier.

Thanks

Any old bit of wire can be used as a link. Better with single wires from a bit 1mm flat cable rather than flex.
You will need a half decent multimeter for repairs.

:iagree: totally and absolutely a piece of solid 1mm is a good piece of kit ... regards repairing I rarely use it ...but one of those things you carry! lol :) Knowing how to use and interpret the readings of a multimeter will benefit you far more for sure IMO :)

I am also after a long horse haired brush I have seen them on course and other people use them but I cant find one anywhere any ideas?

A magnetic dish is also good for breakdowns

I use these leads,use them for testing fans and stuff in workshop (shed)[DLMURL="http://www.maplin.co.uk/test-lead-kit-5669"]

[/DLMURL]http://www.maplin.co.uk/test-lead-kit-5669

As far as long horse haired brush,am lucky just use hairs off our lass's bum and tie them together,have to cut them down a bit though usually
:santa_smiley:

Last edited by a moderator:
1mm cables good but a multimeters essential as for cleaning brushes i use these
BOILER CLEANING FLUE BRUSH KIT (SET OF 9) BRAND NEW | eBayor thin flue way heat exchangers i use the thin regin velcro type cleaner or a blunt senior hacksaw blade