Search the forum,

Discuss Leaky toilet in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

crouzilles

Hello, please first allow me to introduce myself. I am Crouz, I live in Ealing with my wife and little boy, and this is my first time of this forum, hello to all.

I noticed 3 days ago that around the pipe bringing water to the toilet tank, there was a small drip of water when the tank is being filled after flushing. I would say a drop every 5 seconds approximately. It is a very hard area to reach, but I managed to take a short video of the leaky area which I'll share in a minute.

After viewing the video I can see that the leak has probably been there for quite some time. I don't think the problem is the pipe itself or the nut, but probably the seal to the toilet tank, anyway I'll let you experts decide.

If you could advise me as to how I could either sort it out or what I could do to find out what exactly is the problem, that would be great.

Regards
Crouz

[video=youtube;uMzoYdyjZCI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uMzoYdyjZCI&feature=youtu.be[/video]

yes its the seal between the two (tank and pan) is there much access ?

I'm afraid not really, although there are pieces of wood around the toilet itself which if not present would make access much easier. See video for what I mean (I lack the technical words sorry).

How easy is it to repair or change this seal for a not so handy man like myself?
Regards
Crouz

[video=youtube;lHgWvkec4Zk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHgWvkec4Zk[/video]

You see the 2 Butterfly nuts underneath the cistern (nuts with ears on), If your really lucky you could try and see if you can tighten them both.

you can decide as your taking the cistern off and putting a new donut on i would recomend changing the syphon and maybe the ball valve as well (depends if you can get at the ball valve while the cistern is on the wall fixed if you can you dont need to change it)