Search the forum,

Discuss Advice on quitting or staying in current job in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

81ll

Gas Engineer
I am a gas safe engineer with little experience in the industry. I can do servicing, CP12's, basic fitting work and very minimal fault finding.

To progress my career I started working for a company & have been there for 3 months. Issue is I Spend 95% of my time servicing which is getting boring. I have asked to do more and am told I am to slow fitting and will get to do fault finding but nothing is changing.

i am now thinking I will give it 6 months and then move on if nothing changes.

What would you guys out there recommend I do.

Stay if you wanna stay or go if you wanna go, at the end of the day only you will know.

Theres a song in there somewhere :)

As rpm said, nobody can make or direct you into a decision other than yourself.

You have only been there 3 months though.

My concern about leaving is I won't have any support if I come across jobs I'm struggling with.

i don't want to quit then find out this is what it like in the industry e.g. Companies get you to do simple stuff then start developing you after you've been there for 6 months...

what I wanted to understand is have other ppl been in this position

My concern about leaving is I won't have any support if I come across jobs I'm struggling with.

i don't want to quit then find out this is what it like in the industry e.g. Companies get you to do simple stuff then start developing you after you've been there for 6 months...

no company wants to develop you. They want to earn from you. Work is boring. It's not all bored lonely housewives and yummy mummy's. You've been there 3 months. It wasn't that long ago that you were worried about finding a job. They've given you a foot in the door. Stick it out for at least anther 6 months.