Discuss advice on boiler break downs and learning in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

bob the plumber

Hi guys,

Just qualified in my gas having been working in the trade for three years with someone. My installation work is very good however i would like to learn how to get into breakdowns or at least develope a good knowledge as i am getting numerous calls but how do i go about this? The timed served boss does not get involved in the breakdown side of things he will just give his registered friend a call who will either fix it or pass it back if the boiler is past it so i have no experience apart from the basic stuff you learn at college. The boss says he can get me on a number of free courses arranged by boiler manufacturers but do these really cut it or do you suggest spending time with a real time served breakdown engineer?

thanks for the advice

im in the same boat as you bob, i suppose the only way to learn is by getting hands on like you say, would be intrested in hearing other peoples thoughts.

Some boiler manufacturer courses are good, some aren't. In my opinion experience is the key here, there are a lot of things they don't teach you in college that can only really be picked up on the job. If you get the chance get out with your boss' registered friend to get some pointers. You will never learn everything about every single boiler, there's just too many different makes out there with different quirks. There is also a good bunch of guys on here that collectively can usually solve most problems albeit after a lot of discussion (sometimes quite colourful too!).

As CES says, experience is the key to this game.