Discuss Saniflo pump operation in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

trigger25

Can anyone tell me how the basic Saniflo macerator works.

Should the motor run continuously until the unit is emptied?

My one pumps for approx. a few seconds stops and repeats once or twice more. My previous unit pumped until empty.

Thanks
Trigger

As far as I know they have a float switch....they'll pump until the level drops.

If its stop start, it could indicate an issue. I don't know this for a fact though as I'm no macerator expert. If they're broke, I tend to replace them not repair them. I have fixed one though that had a broken printed circuit board.

It's quite a new unit so it shouldn't be faulty. It's just operating differently to the old one. I'd hoped someone knew if they pumped in bursts.

whats running into it? it maybe a toilet overflowing or a tap dripping into it.
it should operate and then stop. if its new and nothing is leaking it is probably the non return valve thats at fault.
get someone to have a look at it.

if its fairly new it should be under warranty if it was registerd

whats running into it? it maybe a toilet overflowing or a tap dripping into it.
it should operate and then stop. if its new and nothing is leaking it is probably the non return valve thats at fault.
get someone to have a look at it.

It only has a toilet running into it. The 22mm flexible pipe connects to 22mm plastic pipe and that connects to possibly 50mm pipe to downstairs. The only thing is the pipework has a 90 degree bend and was wondering if that was causing some restriction.

i don't know if it was registered but it was only fitted this year.

There is no blockages as a sink, shower and bidet all drain away fast.

the 90 degree bend will not help as only 45 degree overflow fittings should be used.
can it be changed to two 45's?
can you not get the fitter back out.