Discuss Oftec exam / mock exam in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

King Plumb

Allright dudes and dudettes.:seeya:
I'm going to do my oftec course in October, I'm a time served plumber and worked with oil in the early 1990's my certs are from 1992:wheelchair:
I went away from the trade and have now got back into it due to a change of circumstances, not a bad thing.
Anyway what I was going to ask was, is there any mock exam sheets out there so I can have a wee practice.

Not that I know of, I'm afraid. I looked for the same thing when I did mine.

To be honest, like most plumbing exams, they're next to impossible to fail, unless you pay absolutely no attention during the classes.

That's the thing if it's open book it seems like anyone can do it if they part with ÂŁ750 :icon9:

You will find that they give you information on the course that questions will be asked on. You get three attempts and the last one they look over your shoulder and tell you which box to tick. You wont fail.

That's the thing if it's open book it seems like anyone can do it if they part with ÂŁ750 :icon9:

The bloke who did my assessment picked up who knew what within the first 30 mins. They're not there to fail you, but there was only three of us when I did mine so it was pretty good.
Being open book it's like the real world, if you didn't know or was unsure in the real world you would stop and refer before carrying on.

Then you'll get your oftec visit within the first 12 months. I think some of em are ex traffic wardens. :)

In the meantime just have a browse through the oftec books, strip down a burner or two and see if you can find anything on the web for hazard awareness (spotting issues etc).

A sad(?) fact of life is that for any exam authority* (GCSE's upwards) it's not in their interest to fail you because the competition (other exam bodies) will take over.

* save a few