Search the forum,

Discuss New Heating System Ideas Please. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

MicraShed

Re-posted from the Hello Forum (I had so much trouble trying to post this last night owing to one word -j1gg3ry! - I gave up and went to bed in the end).

Hello

I have wandered over here to the plumbing forum the sparkies forum. I have a background in electrical engineering, but this was a long time ago and for the last 20 odd years I have been a nurse and work erratic shifts. I renovated my current property so have a rough idea about plumbing and wiring - that said I wont be attempting to replace the heating system myself, someone else can have that pleasure.

Anyway, after installing Solar PV and a proportional hot water heating device, I now turn to the gas central heating which is starting to get a bit creaky and is eating gas - the use has leapt from 13kWh/day to 33kWh / day for the same period, when all that is on is the hot water.

The House:
4 bed Semi (garage conversion to bed number 4) extended. 7 radiators.
Cavity wall insulation
200+ mm lost insulation
Double glazed, part under floor insulation

The Current System:
1995 B4xi Solo 2 (RS) 40,000BTU boiler (tweaked to nearer 50,000 BTU output) Located in the kitchen running a Grundfos pump (2011) to a 22mm manifold running around the upper floor of the house dropping to 15mm to feed the radiators. The pipes and rads were replaced in 2006 from huge leaky rads and 10mm micro bore pipe.

Hot water is served by a 1995 Primatic cylinder located in the bathroom about a hundred miles from the boiler (in reality a pipe run of about 55 feet of 22mm pipe)