Search the forum,

Discuss HIU leaking - short term fix in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all,

I am completely new to HIUs and I need some advice with regards to the best course of action.

The three way valve / proportional modulation (PM) valve of my Meibes HIU is leaking. This is due to the fact that the water in the the primary flow has a lot of gunk. I´m currently waiting on the management company to fix a filter in the plant room which should improve water quality before I get the valve replaced.

At the moment, during normal use ca. 1 litre a day drips from the valve which my tenant collects in a bucket. The flat will be empty for a couple of weeks and I was wondering what the best temporary fix would be. I can think of the following options, but if you have any further suggestions happy to hear them out:

1. DIY a water catchment system and let the water off into the washing machine waste pipe

2. Turn off the cold water main and the primary inflow valve.

The second option sounds like the easier solution but is there anything else that I would need to consider? Would it be sufficient to turn off the two valves to stop the leaking as this will isolate the HIU? In order to restart the system, would I just need to open the valves again? Any potential issues from doing so?

Would love to hear what you guys and gals suggest! Thanks very much in advance!

Edit: I have attached an illustration of the HIU system along with some pictures of the valves.

Attachments

• IMG_7116.jpg
    IMG_7116.jpg
    170.7 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_7118.jpg
    IMG_7118.jpg
    304.9 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_7115.jpg
    IMG_7115.jpg
    366.6 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_7114.jpg
    IMG_7114.jpg
    392.4 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_7113.jpg
    IMG_7113.jpg
    321.6 KB · Views: 16