Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss High efficiency gas fire or wood burning stove? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

wetdrip

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Guys, I've been thinking for some while now about sticking a woodburner in the lounge.
However, I've noticed many are doing much the same, and as such, the wood costs are creeping up.
I can source my own wood too, however, when I factor in petrol and time costs I'm starting to think H.E Gas fire.
Any thoughts from you guys would be much appreciated.

Last edited:
Logs etc are on the up, just waiting for the woodchip bubble to burst.

I think, unless you have your own supply, stoves are getting pretty expensive to run. We have one in the back room. Its only lit when I have enough scrap timber to burn on it. After all, I'm only a poor plumber :)

By high efficiency if you mean flueless gas fire I wouldnt bother.
By the time you have made a suitable hole in the wall for ventilation youve negated the efficiency in real terms....

Last edited by a moderator:
I'd go wood burner (multifuel in fact) so you have another option if there is ever an issue with the gas supply.

wood burner mate all day long, as long as you have somewhere to stack it and store it you are sorted.

A wood burner has Much more character & nicer to look at, plus you get the nice wood crackling sound. Although gas is cheap & no mess or ash like a wood burner.

I have a lovely stanley stove in d house. Great heat off it and very relaxing to look at. Get 1 , ye won't b sorry. There's still heat off it d next morning.

Just bought a Dimplex langbrook smoke exempt stove, its multifuel. very good. its a very efficient one as long as you get the air mix right. You do need a fair bit of wood to get a night out of it. Its only 5 kw as well.