Search the forum,

Discuss Extending toilet water supply in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Richs99

Good morning

This is my first post and I have zero plumbing experience so please excuse any incorrect terms or blatant ignorance...

I'm trying to replace a toilet valve with a slow leak. I bought a Fluidmaster 400UK (bottom entry float valve) and have got as far as getting it into the cistern. When trying to hook it back up to the water pipe, the existing connector was the wrong size. I now have about 1 and a half inches of missing pipe (see attached image).

IMG_0515.JPG

As far as I can see, the threads on the bottom of the fluidmaster and the top of the copper pipe would match if they only reached each other (they appear to both be 20mm).

Please could someone tell me which part I need to buy to "bridge the gap"?

Many thanks in advance!

Rich

P.S. Am struggling to attach the image, will attempt again to edit once this is posted

Last edited by a moderator:
Your easiest way would be to cut the copper feed back a few inches and bridge the gap with a 15mm copper to 1/2" bsp flexible.

Your plumbers merchant will advise you exactly what you need.

Hi there

Thanks for the reply! That sounds beyond my limited skillset to be honest.

Given the sizes you've suggested, would something like this not work:

Homebase /webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?langId=110&storeId=10151&partNumber=824185

(can't paste link directly, it's a Compression Straight Male Connector - 15mm - 0.5in)

If not it's time to call the pros I think :)

What I suggested is the easiest DIY way.
don't wander aimlessly in a DIY shed, go to a proper plumbers merchant and they'll see you right.

It's a simple job but you could get into all sorts of bother if you just guess at what's needed.

Failing that, get a pro in, it may cost you £50 or so but at least you'll have peace of mind.