Search the forum,

Discuss Do I need replacement radiator valves? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

SCGH

Hi

I am very new to all this, so please excuse what is likely a very simplistic newbie question!

Our radiators seem to either run very hot or stone cold. It is sometimes possible to achieve a warm radiator (around setting number 2 on the valve), but only if the adjustment is a tiny fraction turn of the valve, and is extremely difficult to achieve. I don't want the radiators too hot for my kids rooms, as they are very young. But they often bump the valve, which means the radiator either stays cold or gets too hot and this is becoming very frustrating.

All radiator valves in this house seem to work in this way, whereas in our previous homes #6 was hot, off always cold, and the numbers in between were different degrees of warm as you would expect.

Our house has a water tank in the loft and a Potterton boiler downstairs. Our previous houses had combi boilers, so I am not sure if this makes a difference.

When hot, all parts of the radiator are hot, so no air seems to be in them.

So my questions are:
  1. Should my central heating system work like this?
  2. If not, what could the problem be?
  3. If the valves need replacing, can I do this myself?

Thanks!

Thermostatic radiator valves don't vary the temperature of the water in the radiator. They shut off the flow of water into the radiator when the set room temperature is reached. The radiators will only be warm when the room temperature has been reached and the radiator is starting to cool down.

Hmmm. I don't think they are thermostatic vavles as the valves just have 1 to 6 on them, and the main thermostat is in our hallway (Hive system).