Search the forum,

Discuss TRVs & Cost Efficiency in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi,

I've become a bit obsessed with understanding how my heating and hot water system works. I'm a total novice but I've just become genuinely interested and have been watching loads of Youtube videos and read a book on 'Basic Plumbing' recently. It'd be good to bounce some questions off people about things I probably don't quite understand yet. My question is about how TRVs can save you money - I believe they give you the option of shutting off radiators (setting a low temperature benchmark) and restricting the amount of water in the system that needs heating. I'm just wondering how much this can equate to. If I have a house with 14 radiators and I've got a gas boiler, vented system (tank in loft, cylinder on landing, boiler in garage) and I shut off all but, say, 3 radiators. Would that equate to a 75% saving on heating costs or is it not that simple?

Nick

The efficiencies come from the fact that TRVs regulate the flow through the rads to maintain a fixed room temperature, with non TR valves if the ambient temp goes up, the room temp will also go up as a fixed flow is going through the rads, which could lead to you heating the room more than it needs to be and therefore wasting energy.

Re your scenario its not that simple, as the surrounding rooms would be colder, the rads in the heated rooms would have to work harder to maintain the same temperature in those rooms. Think its generally recommended that you have the rads on in all rooms to avoid major temperature variations within the property which can lead to damp/condensation problems. Just have them set to a lower number in the rooms you don't use as much.