Search the forum,

Discuss This Trade in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

hammers4spanner

Esteemed
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Subscribed
Has this trade quite literally gone to the wall . All I hear is payment issues money owed ,grief with endless regulations and manufacturers warranties are not worth the paper written on either. Customers expecting to pay pitta yet expect top end product . THE rates were better a few year back as well .

Training centers don't help the situation either and then we get endless reg alterations from gas safe who are deafening in the silence.

What do you guys think of our trade at this moment in time.

I'm quite new to it all but already see most of what you said is true.

Customers expecting to pay pitta yet expect top end product . THE rates were better a few year back as well .

What do you guys think of our trade at this moment in time.

Think it applies to all trades, customers have high expectations from make over programmes and glossy magazines, manufactures cutting costs and therefore quality, people being told that plumbers, sparkies etc can earn 50k a year whilst their salaries are frozen or reduced.

Suppose it peoples different perspectives.
Doing really well at the moment and have been for last couple of years. Been at it nearly 8/9 self employed and getting better all the time.
Very very rarely have payment issues although in the early days did get stung big time but that more a fault of my own being wet behind the ears much wiser now.

Dont think you can put it down to people or areas as bradford is up there with the poorest neighbour hoods.
I think a lot of it is how you come across to people and the type of people you target and your marketing. Most of my work comes through my website and google business listing as it has over 20 5star reviewsand growing.