Discuss Starting up your own business in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Aqua Mechanica

Hello again,

Just wanted some advice really or links to websites that may be of help.

I've always worked as a sub contractor but left them back in september after their pricebook rates went down to an absolute pittance.

Since that time, i've not advertised but have had a fair few jobs by word of mouth.

I got stuck on whether to go back to the old firm or starting out on my own. When it comes down to it, I am a fairly ambitious chap and working for myself does really appeal to me.

My question is, where can i find advice about becoming a limited company, how to gain more work in my area and basically all things business related that i should learn.

Any help, much appriciated.

Thank you

Ben

I am a newbie to the self employed and I first approached my local business link. This link if it works Business support, information and advice | Business Link looks like being your local one. They helped with the startup planning and gave me some help doing extra courses.

Good Luck it is very hard work at first and you have to be prepared to live on a pittance but hopefully things will get better as people get to know you are available.:)

Mick

Thanks very much, all taken on board and I'll get in touch with business link.

Cheers ;-)

I picked up a book written by the "Times" newspaper on amazon.co.uk all about forming a limited company.Well written and one word of advice learnt from business link, choose your limited company name wisely.