Discuss Netaheat Profile 50E....anyone give me a rough idea how much this will cost? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

fairylights

Hi everyone,

I am not a heating engineer but have recently moved into a property with this boiler/system. I have posted previously about this as have had lots of problem with the system and have so far spent £500 because of it. Last work carried out was around 6wks ago when it was left in full working condition, with possible faulty Pressure Release/Relief? Valve.

I joined British Gas breakdown 2 wks ago and had to call them out this morning due to the boiler screeching at me when it reached the end of programmed time. Pump over running for around an hour, so engineer was left to check over system etc.

Engineer called me to boiler after an hour and pointed to the 'pilot' light, but said no its a gas leak as this system doesnt have a pilot light.

Anyway, he has disconnected the gas and stated its dangerous, (not querying that as it obviously cannot be left like this). He also said there were other problems and it also needs a new pump, boiler stat, pump overrun stat, pressure reducing valve, TPRV & PRV required (details copied from report).

Apparently none of this work is covered by the breakdown contract as this was a 'first visit' and until the boiler is up to scratch, then I can use the contract. Always a catch, but expect its there in the small print somewhere.

Engineer states the work will cost aprox £900.....not acceptable to me and just for parts etc and to be honest, I would probably be better off buying a new boiler if I am going to have to keep spending money.

Opions please on what you think is the best way forward for me...I have another gas engineer coming out on Monday morning for a second opinion.

Thank you :)

What on earth have you spent £500 on so far??

For a start the boiler does have a pilot albeit not permanent.