Search the forum,

Discuss Just to say Hi and give some info about my system in the The Welcome Wagon :) area at PlumbersForums.net

Good day,
I am not a plumber/heating engineer and don't don't tackle plumbing or electrics, having done a bit of both with variable success :). But I am an avid researcher and like to understand how things work and get the best out of them. The Glowworm Combi boiler that was in my small 2 bed house when I moved in 4 years ago died just before Christmas, and I was going to go for a Viessmann, but the heating engineer who was recommended to me said he always stuck with Baxi, so ended up with a 800 combi boiler, which seems OK.
I also decided I wanted smart heating controls, the heating engineer recommended the Honeywell Evo system, but after researching decided to go for the Drayton Wiser system, so got the exiting wall mounted room stat replaced with the single channel hub, and had TRVs put on the 2 rads that didn't have them. I also ran OpenTherm cable from the hub to the boiler, but haven't had it connected, and may not after mixed reviews.
I am VERY impressed with the Drayton Wiser system and have tweaked the schedule/temperatures of the 3 upstairs & 3 downstairs radiator thermostats to get it how I want. The cold snap before Christmas made me aware that the part of the lounge that I sit does not get warm enough with the double rad at the back of the dining area, so I'm going to get another rad at the front. It's a microbore system with what looks like a single pipe system and manifold upstairs and downstairs.
I'm a bit of a geek, and update a spreadsheet, partly automatically, with smart meter, Calorific Value, heating system, temperature sensor and live monitoring smart plug readings. Unfortunately I can't get any data from the boiler, wish I'd have gone for the Viessmann now :).