Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Jointing compound on pushfit? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

DIYPaul

Hi, I'm a novice when it comes to plumbing. I've used compression fittings in the past, and have applied jointing compound.

With push-fit copper fittings, do you still need to use jointing compound?

No no no! :) The instructions will tell you to make sure you have a smooth cut (not a hacksaw) and ensure that any burrs are removed before pushing the tube a set distance into the coupling. Some let you use silicone lube to make it easier to push the tube in and reduce the risk of damaging the 'O' ring.

Follow the mfr's instructions to the letter!

no jointing compound required, i some times use spray lube, especially when i am using 28mm

put solvent cement all over the o ring rap it in densil tape then apply tar all over it

Or maybe heat it up and see if you could run some solder round it, just in case !

It may seem a simple question to some but how do you learn in life? I was always told during my 7 year apprenticeship 'IF YOU DONT KNOW THEN ASK' can you imagine how i would of felt if i got the response that you lot have given this new member to the forum, What makes you lot so special that you should make fun of a simple straight YES OR NO question? and to be totally honest, i have seen a couple of your previous answers to some more technical questions and you are not all SUPER PLUMBERS! it is a form of bullying, and bullys are weak! be warned, i will be scanning your every response in the future and as you slip up i will rip the living p@@s and see how you like it!

i agree this is not on to take the urine yes or no would have sufficed we all ask for advice on occasions,to the op take no notice of some of the comments on here,and hope this does not put you off asking questions in the forums