Discuss Introduction in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

brum

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Hi there originally from Birmingham I moved to the Isle of Arran some 12 years ago I am a plumber to trade and would like advice/training on oil fired appliance servicing I have fitted 30-40 oil boilers so installation is not a problem just servicing thanks for reading

Brum, as in the wee car from the kids tv series? Blimey, fallen on hard times if you're into the heating game....

Hi there originally from Birmingham I moved to the Isle of Arran some 12 years ago I am a plumber to trade and would like advice/training on oil fired appliance servicing I have fitted 30-40 oil boilers so installation is not a problem just servicing thanks for reading

In my mind, if you can fit and commission a boiler correctly then the ability to repair and service them is a small step on, as understanding how to commission a boiler means you have the knowledge on how they work therefore a good idea of where to look when they dont. If though you just install them and get someone else to commission them you need to get your oftec quals and go on a couple of manufacturers courses to learn the ropes.

Servicing an oil boiler is like making love to a fat smelly greasy old hag who insists on smoking dog turds while she is on top. Take big hammer and a selection of cold chisels, grinders with a bradded wire brush head and some grinding discs.

As I am in Scotland there is no legislation for OFTEC also the guy I was working for done all the comm and servicing I purely installed.Now I have become self employed looking to service oil boilers with the very definite route of going down the rayburn/aga thanks for your advice do need to contact manufactures

Welcome along :)

Nice to hear from a fellow smelly, I mean oily :)

blob.php

Status
Not open for further replies.