Search the forum,

Discuss Hot water from boiler expansion pipe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tech12

Hi: Just joined & have a query, A friend has just had his heating pump replaced. Since the pump was replaced, every time they use the heating / hot water they have hot water / steam coming from the boiler vent pipe in the attic.
He called the plumber that replaced the pump, he says he doesn't have a clue what's going on.
I was thinking either the speed control is set too high or possibly he's installed the pump backwards, but I'm a sparky not a plumber & could do with some advice from those with more knowledge.

does sound like the pump speeds to high,try turning it down

get a plumber in that knows his stuff, hopefully speed is too high, otherwise blockage, poor system design, oversized pump etc etc

Pump is either set too high, or sludge blocking the cold feed and pushing up over the vent. It may of been happening all the time and not been noticed. If the pump was fitted backwards it would probably stop the boiler working.

Hi Gasman: Cheers for the reply buddy, appreciate it. Forgot to say: The system is about 20 years old & was working well until the pump popped, you may be onto something though. Apparently the plumber told them he'd fitted a high pressure pump, will ring him tomorrow & tell him to call another plumber.

Andy

Last edited by a moderator:
Pump fitted by a clown

Hi Guys: Thanks for the replies, in fairness to the plumber he's done work for me & my customers for over 15 years without any problems. Having said that, that was then & this is now, will see my mate this morning & tell him to get a different plumber in to look at it.

Andy

Last edited by a moderator:
Asked a local heating engineer to have a look at it, he's asked me to meet him there tomorrow morning.Will update the thread once he's been.Thanks for the advice so far guys: Andy