Search the forum,

Discuss Help!! What is this pipe please? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jay001

Not sure this is in the right place as I'm a newbie!

We're in the process of knocking through a wall and have come across this pipe. Nobody is too sure what it is (think their main concern is it's electric and don't want a nasty shock!) but we need it out of the way!

Think it's galvanized. Very cold to start but does warm up if you hold your hand on it (suggesting there is no cold water in it).

Any help/advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• IMG_1504.jpg
    IMG_1504.jpg
    91.4 KB · Views: 85
  • IMG_1503.jpg
    IMG_1503.jpg
    95.7 KB · Views: 83
  • IMG_1502.jpg
    IMG_1502.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 92
  • IMG_1501.jpg
    IMG_1501.jpg
    91.3 KB · Views: 99
  • IMG_1500.jpg
    IMG_1500.jpg
    94.2 KB · Views: 106
best thing you could do and if you going that far is to trace it, if its elec there should be a box not to far away

looking something like this

conduit_circular_box_galv_tee_3_way.png

but it might be your water main/gas ad it looks like hemp on the coupling joint

Hi Shaun. Thanks for your reply. Problem is it's all the far side of the wall, so unless we keep chopping away, can't get to anything. The gap we've cut is 5' wide and no junction box spotted
The hemp part is interesting though! Still not sure what to do! LOL

Hi Shaun. Thanks for your reply. Problem is it's all the far side of the wall, so unless we keep chopping away, can't get to anything. The gap we've cut is 5' wide and no junction box spotted
The hemp part is interesting though! Still not sure what to do! LOL

is there any markings/writing on the pipe any where you can see?

That doesn't look like conduit to me! There are teeth marks on the pipe from Stillsons. Probably water or gas..

sorry to say you have two options lave it where it is or find where it comes/ goes to