Discuss change of career - advice please in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
O

Octopus Prime

Hi all.

Im 30 and been working the last 10 years as a professional carpenter. Over the last 4-5 years ive branched out into other trades like tiling and basic plumbing so I can fit kitchens and bathrooms with little external help. Im a sole trader and, not to blow my own trumpet, really good at what I do.

However, over the last year my income has taken a rapid drop and getting work is a struggle. I dont know whats going on :(

I enjoy plumbing more than anything else I do and fine carpentry seems to be dieing as I cant compete with larger company's.

So. Ive decided to get a loan from the bank and blow it on plumbing/gas safe courses. Ive got my eye on intensive courses at able skills in Dartford. I done a five day plumbing course there 4 years ago and it was one of the best bits of education ive had.

I need advice Though.
What is the process? Once ive done the course I need to work with someone to build up a portfolio right? How long is this? Does it pay?

What are the chances of getting a job at the moment. Who are the best companies to aproch?

I need to make this as seamless as possible as I dont want to cause to much financial stress on my family.

Any advice or help welcome
Thanks in advance

Gary

Hi Gary,
I've used able skills too for the level 2 City & guilds. I really liked the course but am struggling with finding work. A lot of companies, understandably want 2-3 years on the tools/time served apprenticeship etc.
I think able skills offer the option to go out with their chap to get your NVQ/gas safe portfolio done but that's additional to the course cost.
Based on your age you may be able to do the 24+ government loan on the level 3 which I think they bundle the gas in to too but depends on a few things. They'll be able to tell you more on that though.