Search the forum,

Discuss Can anyone help me regarding being a Pipe fitter welder becoming a Plumber? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

nick99

Hi, i'm a fully qualified pipefitter welder and have covered lots of plumbing duties both on commercial and domestic jobs. However i'm thinking of starting self employment as a plumber (just wet plumbing to start with as ive enquired about Gas Safe and have been told i'd have to work with a gas fitter to build up a portfolio ie work completed with photos before i can go on a gas safe course) and need to know if i have to go back to college :confused: (couldnt bare doing that again).:mad:
I only want to work on the basics at the moment ie pipework alterations, leaks, bathroom fitting etc etc....
I've been in the job for over 20 years and feel a basic plumbing course would not achieve me anything as i know what to do, it's just if theres any red tape i'm unaware of at the moment.
Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks for reading.....:)
Nick

None whatsoever worked with lots of pipe fitters on site who are better than most plumbers to be honest .quite often do pipe fitting myself if plumbing works is quiet . As long as your insured then jobs a good un , I know lots of builders who act as if they can plumb at least you have head start .
As for the gas thats a bit of a joke as many i know have done hardly any training with an engineer but just took photos near fires .boilers water heaters etc then have some one say they've worked withy them .

Thanks mate, its frustrating when you want to do things the correct way and you hear of cowboys out there who somehow get the certificates. I guess i'll have to get my camera out and stand next to boilers, gas mains with a cheesey smile and a wrench in my hand!!!!! LOL....
So all i have to do is get some public liability insurance and i'm away with regards to wet plumbing?