Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Paying in CASH jobs to bank account in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

parkesy_plumb

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
hi guys im new to self employment and was wondering how you guys "declare" jobs you have done paid in cash.

Whats the process do you still invoice customer?

thanks guys

I write an invoice and stick the money in my wallet and use it to pay for diesel etc. If I get paid a huge chunk I'll use it to pay part of my account at the merchants.

You need to raise an invoice so that you've got a record of the transaction. HMRC are very suspicious of small traders that don't show any cash transactions and are likely to investigate. I normally get a few a week. Last large cash transaction was for a boiler swap and that went straight to the merchants, they can rung the risk of it in their safe rather than me having it in the draw at home.

Mrs will use it if it goes home!, got to pay for the boiler first!

Fill the van with diesel, pay accounts or worst case paid into personal account and transferred into business account on line free.

Personally, invoice as per normal, then pay into personal account then transfer over to business account to avoid shocking bank charges.

hi thanks for the reply, just worried about tax man like shouldnt you put everything you earn into the bank?

As long as you have an invoice for the work done it doesn't matter what you do with the money it's yours, you have a invoice to prove it's declared earnings.