Search the forum,

Discuss Hi there,just a quick introduction to me. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mike.M

Hi all,
My name is Mike and I am 49 yrs old and I have been a plumber since I was 15.
I started my time with a building firm in my home town in the Highlands and after 3 years I was getting a bit fed up of being in charge of a cement mixer when they needed extra hands :)
I therefore left my job and went to work for a large local company with branches in all the cities in Scotland.I worked on all sorts of jobs including Hotels, Hospitals and Schools as well as renovations and new builds.
When I was time served +2yrs they did what a lot of companies did and paid me off.
I then went to work for another large company and was part of a team installing central heating in 700+ RAF houses. Following that I was on many large jobs such as hospitals, shopping centres and schools all over Scotland and the Western Isles.
When the company owner passed away I started my own business and was quite successful for approx 7 yrs and had contracts with local housing associations and local hotels and guest houses as well as many private customers.
Following this I went to work in a local College where I taught mostly apprentices at SVQ level 3 but also taught school age kids and also adults.
Whilst achieving a qualification in teaching I also completed many courses relevant to my trade. (most were train the trainer) Everything from Gas to OFTEC, Solar thermal, Ground Source, Air Source, Unvented hot water, Underfloor heating,Electricity for Plumbers, Water Disinfection, Water Byelaws, Woody Biomas, Scafolding and many other subjects both workshop and classroom based It was a really interesting job however for reasons outwith my control I left. I have done some Health and Safety training for a local charity and some other stuff as well as still being active as a plumber. Thanks for reading.