Search the forum,

Discuss Green star 25si fast blue light flash and so wet! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Captain.rick

Gas Engineer
[h=2]
icon1.png
Green star 25si[/h]
Hi all, I'm a new gas engineer and wondered if you can help me with something.
i had a call to go see this boiler and opened it up and it's riddled with condensation inside. The fan isn't working. Fast flashing blue light on front. So I'm thinking all moisture has shorted out fan and maybe others. Maybe combustion chamber seals or maybe crack in flue (inside) checked outer flue and terminal.
do you have any tips or am I on right lines?
over heat stat and flue temp gave me no ohms resistance either?

thanks in advance

rich​

The condense trap was a bit dirty so cleaned anyway and there was no blockage or leak from there. The man said it was installed 7 years ago and it's not been touched since!

You will get a better response in the gsr only section captain rick. Away from non gsr eyes. Maybe one of the mods can move it for you.

The over heat stat flue temp and aps are all inter connected on an orange loom and are simple make and break and will lock the boiler out on over heat. I think your on the right lines split hex or cracked exhaust is plausible. Possible perished washer in the cleaning access slot below the hex. Its one of them faults where it ideally needs to be operational to find the fault. Was it rusty inside? Did it look like a long term thing or as it just happened?

Hi thanks for the reply.
No it looks like a long tern think, inside is almost scaled. Bottom is starting to rust too.
I left it to dry out while i get a fan because that isnt working anyway so figured that might get it going enough to find other problems.
The flue looks like it had water stains running down it that have dried too so i check terminal and roof and it seems all ok?!