Discuss Worcester Greenstar Junior CH problems in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

tennooge

Hi guys

I'm a gas safe engineer and am currently struggling with a breakdown.

I was called to the property to fit a new filling loop (remove external and fit worcester integral filling loop) and service the boiler.

I've fitted the filling loop and all seems fine. I then went on to service the boiler, cleaning condensate trap etc and checking CO, Co2%, ratios. I set the Co2 to 9.2% as it was a little low.

Since doing the above I've been called back because the heating fires up, runs at full rate for about 5 seconds, modulates down and then shuts down and does this over and over again, HOT WATER IS WORKING FINE. I've checked the flow temp and it never gets above 45 deg (I can only check the pipe work from the heat exchanger, what the actual temp is inside, i'm not sure.). I spoke to worcester technical and they advised me to fit a new primary thermistor - Done but to no avail. The radiators do eventually get warm, but not hot. It's almost as if there's an air lock or restriction somewhere (Pump working fine). I've checked the diverter valve and the motor is working fine. I was advised again by technical to replace diverter valve mixer module in case it is not fully diverting flow to ch circuit - so this is my next port of call, unless anyone has any thoughts. The customer has also had to reset the boiler a few time because it's locked out (flashing red reset light) - Possible overheat.

I've also checked the system for sludge and all seems well - system was flushed 2 years ago and treated with inhibitor.

Any advise would be appreciated as I think the customer is going to lose faith. I can't imagine that the service I carried out would have caused the above, but I can hear the customers voice now in my head saying the classic "It wasn't like that before you touched it!"

Cheers

Dave