Search the forum,

Discuss My 2p worth in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

secret squirrel

I haven't started a thread for such a long time and I have the urge to write something so here goes:

This thread is meant for the people just entering the industry or wanting to. I have done a couple of similar threads before but this one is different (I think).

Firstly, I completed a fast track course which was 10 weeks incl. Part p, unvented cylinders, water regs and a couple of other bits....

I have been a plumber now for 2 years working for the best part on my own. So, anyone whose starting or wants to start in this industry, here's want I've learnt:

Plumbing is far from easy! Obviously. Just because you have a length of copper and a spanner your not a plumber. This industry is hateful, you can toil all day and for no reason you have a drip, sometimes, this involves cutting the pipe and starting a proportion of the work again. I installed a toilet in a property, no leaks done in an hour, (easy work) had to dismantle it again a week later (customer not happy and needed to tile behind it, could've told me that b4!) putting it all back, I couldn't stop it leaking......... thats plumbing. If this job goes wrong it goes wrong fast. I've watched someone change a ball valve live, I begged them not to do it but it wasn't my job I was assisting, we, didn't have enough towels for the carnage.....

Plumbing is not glamourous: customers want a lovely bathroom suite, state of the art and don't mind paying for the suite but are (in general) not interested in changing the problematic lead pipe coming in to the house. They'll spend huge amounts of money on the tap but will only want to pay silly money to have it installed.