Search the forum,

Discuss Is this capped off correctly? in the Gas Engineers Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Good afternoon all,

First time posting on this site.

I’m need of some opinions from Gas engineers if possible.

My house is 1930s (I think). I have some very old gas pipes sticking out of random places. Mostly nest to light pendants.

This has made me believe it’s an old gas/heat/lightning system?

This is a council house and I have questioned them months ago on this but they are slow in responding.

I’ve been in the property 6 months and will be updating and doing loads of bits to the place.

What scares me, is the old secondary system still a live system? I can see some pipes hardly flush and obviously in them days we didn’t have prescribed zones (I’m a sparks by trade myself).

Also what scares me is what I found yesterday whist rewiring and flushing in sockets in one of the room.

From what I see near the meter outside is 2 pipes entering my property live and not capped off outside.

In my boy’s bedroom is a cap off but looks scary to me?

What do you guys think ?

Any advice is much appreciated.

Thanks
Gary

Attachments

• IMG_0782.jpeg
    IMG_0782.jpeg
    320.1 KB · Views: 26
  • IMG_0781.jpeg
    IMG_0781.jpeg
    641.2 KB · Views: 26
  • IMG_0798.jpeg
    IMG_0798.jpeg
    434 KB · Views: 26
no it’s not it should be capped with solder cap also the open ended one should be capped as well. It was a lazy way of doing it years ago, but should be done properly now. That one on ceiling have no idea what it is could be old gas lighting supply.

Reply to Is this capped off correctly? in the Gas Engineers Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics