Search the forum,

Discuss Hotel central heating query in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

cjuk

I was on a wc float valve fix job today when the hoteliers told me about the radiators not getting that hot upstairs, this place has 3 floors with 12 rooms and a good 16-17 radiators in the property. The rads at the top of the hotel are just cold and the next floor down they get hotter on the lower half of the rad and seem hottish on the ground floor. The boilers gravity fed and they said its only 4-5 years old but the rads are a good 20 years old. I didnt really know what advice to give them an said i would look into it to try an help them,im not a gas engineer either so didnt know that much about the boiler,do you think theres just to many rads for the boiler? Or is it a balancing issue? Or could the system just have lots of sludge init and need flushing? They said they had a engineer come round and put some cleaning treatment in the feed tank and left it in there months ago and a couple of the rad valves started to leak recently,any ideas?

I assume that it was inhibitor put into the tanks not system cleaner, or you will have problems!

Needs someone with experience to look at it.

Have a look at the pump.....it might be undersized. I had a prob like this in a hotel in brum......they tried running 15 rads over 3 floors and it was a big place off a 15/60 grundfos......I changed it to a 25/60 ( I think...it was a light commercial pump) and it ran fine,also powerflushed it to make sure.
Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk

Am sure the gsr engineer will of sized the boiler / pump accorindly. Me personally I would power flush the system properly and not just use a bit of hosepipe. I'd guess the chemicals were inhibitor , remember aswell cjuk not all customers tell the truth. Did you drain the system ? What sate was the water in ? Have you put chemicals back in ?

Last edited by a moderator: